by clicking the arrows at the side of the page, or by using the toolbar.
by clicking anywhere on the page.
by dragging the page around when zoomed in.
by clicking anywhere on the page when zoomed in.
web sites or send emails by clicking on hyperlinks.
Email this page to a friend
Search this issue
Index - jump to page or section
Archive - view past issues
Memento : Issue 35
MEMENTO ISSUE 35 13 a 'penguin road' made by royal penguins up to their inland rookery. In 2007, the Australian and Tasmanian governments began a joint $24.6 million program to remove rabbits, rats and mice from Macquarie Island. Such programs will help protect the subantarctic into the future, while part of its fascinating history is preserved in the archives. Bernadette Hince's book The Antarctic Dictionary: A Complete Guide to Antarctic English was published in 2000. She visited Heard Island in 2002, and Macquarie Island in 2004 under the Australian Antarctic Division's Arts Fellowship scheme. She is now a visiting fellow at the Australian National Dictionary Centre in Canberra. NAA: A6135, K16/1/78/10 Photo: Bernadette Hince NAA: A1200, L10025 [right] Royal penguins on Macquarie Island, 1978. [opposite page bottom left] Rookery of macaroni penguins on Heard Island, December 1947. [opposite page bottom right] Raising the flag on Heard Island, 1947, as Australia claimed the territory. [this page bottom left] Post and telegraph office at Heard Island, December 1947. The men are probably (left) AJ Lambeth and (right) Group Captain Stuart AC Campbell. [this page bottom right] Rabbit damage above Sandy Bay, Macquarie Island, 2004.